Since 2011, the Ernie “Bubba” Cooper Jr. Award and Scholarship have been presented each year to one member of the La Serna High School Varsity football team in Whittier, California.


This award was established by the Cooper family shortly after the death of Ernie Cooper Jr. in 2010. Each year the award and accompanying scholarship are given to the college-bound player that best demonstrates the attributes of hard work, leadership, and overall athletic skill. Recipients need not be identified as at-risk, as this award is strictly merit-based. 


The Ernie "Bubba" Cooper Jr. Memorial Scholarship

Ernie "Bubba"Cooper Jr. Award & Scholarship Recipients  

2015 - Enrique Pacheco
2014 - Luis Camacho
2012 - OJ Medina
2013 - John McFarland
2011 - A. Buenrostro
2016 - Jonathan Wise
2017 - Cade McCaffer